Venice

It was the Summer of 2014 that I decided to book a few days away. I was lacking some much needed relaxation and sunshine, the first question that popped into my head was; Where can I go that has a beach yet still has places for me to learn about the culture all of course in the space of a few days? After some extensive online searching I came across Venice and instantly fell in love with the winding canals and architectural buildings.

So as fate would have it, I did it off I was again traveling to new places having already been to Italy I couldn’t wait to go back and visit another city in such a beautiful little country which unquestionably makes the best wine and Gnocchi to die for.

Luckily I had managed to get a great deal on the Hotel too, staying across the main island of Venice at Hotel Excelsior, a hidden luxury gem on the outskirts of the lido. Venice was beautiful both during the day and night with the only downfall being the thunderstorms, taking a water taxi back to the hotel during a thunderstorm is an experience in itself.

As Venice is not the biggest of cities it is fair to say only a few days are really needed here to visit all the main sites, three of which are all located in piazza San Marco. Going up the Campanile is one of my favourite memories of the trip, it is the citIMG_20140821_213348ies tallest building. Being at the top is magical and undoubtedly provided the best views of the city, going up just as the sun was beginning to set added to the romance of Venice.

Speaking of romance, no trip to Venice is complete without a Gondola trip through the Grand Canal, it’s here where I was given a true tour of Venice and the canals that twist through narrow streets. As much as I loved it, I did find it slightly over rated as it loses it’s romantic appeal being so touristy and who would of thought the canals could be so congested.

After a long  few days of exploring the streets of Venice, from famous sites to the unique art I ended my trip relaxing on lido beach and of course got my tan on. Venice may not have been on my Wanderlust list but it is still a beautiful city to spontaneously book. Buonanotte Venezia Arrivederci.

Leave a Reply

